2016…

Posted: January 2, 2017 in Uncategorized

2016 was a year like no other, no one could have possibly prepared me for what was coming, though I can say the end of 2015 gave me a bit of a preview and as it all begins to make sense when I look back. People are very puzzling and I am still as confused as ever when I try to figure them out, I will try to piece together what was outstanding for me, so here it goes…


People are full of “it” and thats not your problem 

Yo! I came across people who were out for blood, gosh and they were ready to use me and the people that are close to me for their own gains. And at a point were I was even ready to invest my time and energy into helping the next person they just found a way to screw it all up. And then there were people I supported and cheer-leaded in their bid to chase their dreams, but at the end of the day I found out were shitting on me, funny how this life thing is.  Which brings me to the next little point…


Cut people off and don’t look back 

We are responsible for the kind of people we keep in our lives, its easy for us to unfriend and block people on social media but when it comes to actual life, sometimes we hold on because there are gains involved. Whether it be connects, money, status or whatever reason it may be, sometimes no one is worth sacrificing your peace of mind and happiness, and once we figure that out, its much more easier to take the matches and burn that wooden bridge to ashes. Like, if I choose to cut you off, trust me, I have absolutely no intentions of coming back.


People will use you as a pawn in their game of chess 

So we all have family issues and sometimes you end up in the middle and you have no idea whats going on. I found myself in such situations this year, countless times and quite frankly I decided that I’m done with peoples bull. At the end of the day I am a human being and not a chess piece, everyone seems to know whats good for me without even bothering to ask me whats good? Manje with each passing day, I get older and stronger and less dependent, the fabric we call family and respect and unity in some instances is just fabric, some parts we just have to take out that shiny scissors and be prepared to cut cut cut it!

Not everything you start will finish (unfortunately) 

Whether its a project, school, work etc, somethings just wont finish and usually they are not in your control but the sun still comes up the following day and you have to make a plan otherwise you are screwed. I failed to finish something that I really struggled to start and get through, though I worked so hard and tried my best not to disappoint, its quite unfortunate how i know I wont be able to finish what I started. But just as sure as the sun comes up with each waking day, so will I and I will figure out a way to make the unfinished product count either way. With that being said…

Prepare to be hated for being good at what you do 

This one was quite the lesson, I’m the kind of person that puts in 110% into things, especially when I enjoy what I’m doing. There was a space I entered and I believe I made very good progress and made a positive change, but my change and commitment was the root of hatred. The rumors, the attempts to bring me down and ruin my reputation were quite surprising. But did that deter me from being the person that I am, naaaah! It almost got to me but I decided not to pay attention to people that know nothing about me. It just shows I’m doing something right, asvotwa ngarutse veduwe.

 

It’s OK not to love/lust people back

So yeah there were a couple of bros that wanted to get with a sister within the course of the year, but for some bros I genuinely couldn’t get with because I just did not feel the same way they felt about me no-matter how hard I tried. And I had to just convince myself that its ok, at the end of the day neither my heart or body is a charity organization so not everyone is welcome in this space. If they understand that then that’s cool, if not oh well, still cool in my books. 

 

Bitterness will kill you 

There are certain things I had sworn to never get over because they hurt me so much and this ranged from family issues to relationships, I was living my life as a response to what happened to me before. I just did not know how to deal with things that hurt me, so I would start a fire within me that was fueled by all the reasons I had to be bitter. But with time after seeing that the people I am bitter at seemed to be going on well with their lives, being all happy in relationships, going on shopping sprees, making it in life and all that. I saw that I was killing myself over people that didn’t give 2 shits and a piss over what happens to me. So I extinguished the fire that was within and started focusing more on myself and quite frankly I’m quite happy that I’m minding my own business and focusing on myself.

Your dream is worth chasing 

Pineapple Creative Studio is the best decision I made in 2016, the moment I decided to make the most of my passion and talent I have been so happy. It’s not easy but I don’t see myself doing anything else. I’ve had doors shut in my face countless times, ignored emails and texts, criticism and no support from the people I would have needed support from the most, but despite all that, we have had such amazing opportunities and the team has stuck together and been so supportive, I wouldn’t have it any other way.


Love exists and not all men are the same 

All I remember asking God was someone who would dance with me, not only did God give me an amazing dancer but someone who also loved me with full knowledge of my past and all my ugly flaws. When you have been hurt enough the times it’s easy to become ruthless and color everyone with the same shade. I’m glad to have been found by someone who I wake up and chose to be faithful to, trust, honor and respect. I believe in love again and I look forward to the future.

I’m glad 2016 is over, I can only imagine what 2017 has in store for me…

Comments
  1. tetehumba says:

    We acknowledge the past but we keep moving forward. Onwards and upwards girl!❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

