The Zumba Mash Up Aftermath 

Pineapple 
 First of all it is a great thing for you to be selfish and take some time to do what you love. I recently joined the corporate world and underestimated how demanding it can get; especially when you actually enjoy your job. I have found myself getting so consumed to a point where I start neglecting myself.  Funny thing is Saturday morning I had excuses ready…“I’ve had a long week, I’m tired” but I didn’t stop to think that I never do anything for myself. So I dragged myself out of bed and made my way to the Village. That was one of the best decisions I made that morning because I got to be a part of a Zumba class for the first time in my life!  I was even happier to be with my good friend MaKupsy. Thank to blogging, Twitter & our love of nice things we have an amazing relationship.

MaKupsy
I was up by 6am and I could not contain keep calm!!  Saturday was here and it was finally time for the Zumba Mash Up event.  I saw it on Facebook a few weeks ago and I promised myself that I would attend the event come rain or shine.  By exactly 9:10am we arrived by Sam Levy’s and there was already a crowd doing Zumba routines.  I was in heaven!  You have no idea how much I love to exercise, I live, breathe and think exercise and what made it all the more exciting was that it was one of my favourite workout routines.  I was surprised when Chenge sent a message telling me that she was on her way, the night before she had said she wouldn’t make it.  I had to keep my phone in hand because I was waiting for Chenge to show up.  She arrived a little later but it was still in time for a lot of fun and selfies, we never get tired of selfies.

Pineapple
I got a few take aways from the day and they are as follows :

Crave the Lifestyle

We actually got a free day pass to Pro Fitness gym. Yet another first for me, I had never been in a gym in my life. For the why? I consider myself fit, broke and quite frankly, I do not have the time & luxury to be in a gym, but I realized that we disqualify ourselves from certain things because of a “This isn’t for me” kinda mentality.  However, it dawned on me that, if not for me then who? If not now, then when? We all deserve nice things in life but we have to go out there and get them! Life is for the taking. Funny enough their weekly fee and ‘walk in’ fee are quite affordable if you really think about it.  Their prices reminded me that, there really isn’t anything stopping me from living my best life, I hope nothing is stopping you.

MaKupsy
I wanted to try every single machine in the gym!  My heart was willing but my body was saying otherwise.  We had done a whole one hour of Zumba so burning 450 calories in one go was a sure way to take my energy away.  We still tried out a few machines all the same.  First stop was the treadmill for some warm up.  I was on the treadmill for about 15 minutes.  We didn’t have anyone directing us on how to use the machines so it was a whole guessing game.  Next stop was the bike which was painful my legs were not ready for that experience.  Then the gruesome part came, THE STAIRS!  I don’t know what that machine is called but we did 30 minutes of it and I don’t plan on doing it again, we were on it for about 15 minutes but we looked like someone poured buckets of water on us.  It was intense!  This was my second gym experience this year and I gave them all the marks.  The place is beautiful, the reception area is done up very professionally BUT they don’t have a swimming pool and we all know how much I love to swim!

Pineapple 
Life is Exciting 

The highlight of my day was definitely the sauna experience in the gym. First of all, I only know sauna’s from movies. I had never in a million years ever envisioned myself sitting on a towel, in a sauna, sweating my life out lol! Thanks to MaKupsy for just being that friend. If I was by myself I probably would have just taken a shower after my workout and been on my way home. See this is the kind of peer pressure I need in my life, pressure to live that upper life. 2017 is your babe, run with it! 

MaKupsy
After nearly an hour of experimenting with different machines we did some stretching to cool down.  I didn’t want Chenge to wake up with sore muscles.  We then hit the sauna and steamer.  Chenge didn’t want to come through but I insisted she try it out and told her she would love every minute of it and she did.  Fitness Hunk was tired of waiting for us but oh well; you know what happens when two women are left to their own devices.  We got time to catch up and make plans for productive things we can do together in the near future.  Chenge is a choreographer among other things and I am all about fitness so you can only imagine the pandemonium we are going to bring to Harare, are you guys ready for it??  I love spending time with her though we always part ways having learnt new things from each other.  I love that we don’t have time for gossip, it’s all about how we can make our Creative talents grow.

Pineapple 
Spend Time With People That Lift Your Spirit 

Alone time is important but sometimes we don’t have the luxury of choosing the people we would actually want to spend time thanks to adulating…work, school, projects, hobbies and everything else in-between. Your life can get so overwhelming and you shouldn’t have to go through such moments alone. I am passing my friend all the sando’s right now because she deserves them. She really brings a certain level of fun, chill and calm to my life, Mercy you are an amazing friend. Plus I made a new friend *smiles* his name is Fitness Hunk, and yes he is fit, yes he is a hunk LOL.  I’m not usually open to meeting new people because it is a lot of work, but I enjoyed this experience because Fitness Hunk is a reflection of MaKupsy, open to new ideas, fit, funny and great company. (plus he buys lunch)

Fun fact about MaKupsy & I, we share the same birthday and we went to the same High School, what are the odds??!! 

MaKupsy

Do I feel bad for diving into a whole burger, chips and a salad after spending the whole morning working out?? Heck no!  I burnt over 1 000 calories and I was shaking from hunger.  Is that the ideal thing to do for a person who is supposed to be health conscious?  Of course not!! You only live once people PLUS the event came with a 50% discount from three eat out places there was no way I was going to let this miss me.  Chenge and Fitness Hunk had a hard time deciding what to have for lunch but I quickly made up my mind.  We got our food soon and munched away and told ourselves this was something we should start doing more often.  Hook up at least once a month, spend at the gym, grab a healthy bite this time around, watch a movie and the day is gone and we have all had some good old clean fun.  Watch this space next month.  

I remember the first time we followed each other on Twitter, I was like we share the same birthday oh my word oh my word!  Then when I rejoined Facebook I realised that we went to the same High School, like how cool is that.  The best part is that we are both bloggers and I initially got to know about her through her blog; I remember reading through some of her articles thinking to myself, she’s cool, I’m cool, we should definitely be cool together.

We all had a beautiful day and even though we were too full to actually then proceed to go and watch a movie we decided we would meet up again soon before the tickets expired.  We love things yes but we don’t love things that much!

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs, ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”– Howard Washington Thurman


Pineapple 

If I can wrap up my January in a day, it would definitely be the 28th, it’s not how we start, rather how we finish, right? 

Make it a point to live your best life passionately & aggressively. You only have one! 

In 2017 you shall Run with Fitness Bae & Dance with Pineapple! 

Leave a Reply

